Thursday, December 3, 2009

Since he won't read this..

Ryan turns 30 on Saturday. He's totally into birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas, etc. Where as I'm totally not. I'm the one who forgets the anniversary, not Ryan. And many a year for his birthday has he gotten upset and moody because I'd forgotten it. But it's really difficult trying to do something for him, because we are so intuned to each other. Everytime I've ever tried, he's figured it out! I can't do or buy anything for him without him knowing as soon as I do it! This year has been no exception. I decided that I would throw him a really causal surprise party. No big plans, order some pizza, throw out some invites, I didn't even discuss or plan anything. I just did it. Hoping of course that he'd have no clue. But sure enough, the day after I gave out the invites he calls me while at work. He says,"I think you should throw me a party". I wanted to cry. Or hit him. Or laugh. Maybe all three. I also on the spur of the moment, after vowing I'd never buy him one.. went out and bought him the iPod he wants. And somehow that same day he knew! I haven't confirmed yet either, but I know he won't be surprised. Bummer. At least I know that he'll be a happy boy, knowing how much I love him, that I would go to all this trouble to give him a party AND a present. If only we weren't SO close....

No comments:

Post a Comment