Wow, I just read my last (and first?) post, I can't believe how much has changed since July!
Anna, of course, is doing wonderfully. She did get her Medal of Honor award. She also scored several sections of the Cal. STAR testing at 100%, and qualified for the John Hopkins University, Center for Talented Youth. Which is pretty cool. But I don't think we'll do anything with that yet only because it costs money, something we just don't have right now.
Christian excelled beyond my expectations in kindergarten so far. It's been amazing just how much he's grown! And his speech! Wow! I can now understand him 99% of the time, where as in January it was only 75% of the time I knew what he was saying! He started therapy in June, and it really has made a world of difference!
Ethan is another story. I started the school year so optimistic, but he just isn't doing well at all. Problem, after problem, after problem. Tomorrow we go in for the first of several evaluations. I've been dragging my feet on this for years, I'm still not sure how I'll react to what they say. Is it autism? Is it ADHD? Is it some unknown? I use to worry about the labels, but right now he's being labeled as "bad" at school, so I suppose any other label would be better than that.
Because of the issues and stress from this, I've put off the foster care thing. I have my excuses... I went to make my doctors appointment (the last paperwork we need), but my doctor moved and I need a new one and there is a waiting list.. yada, yada, yada.. plus we don't have the $90 for the CPR class we have to have, so I just pushed it aside. I keep telling myself I'll get to it, but right now I'm just not sure I'm ready to care for another child. Not with what I'm going through with Ethan.
I have a lot of opinions on the whole Ethan thing.. Personally, I just think all the adults around him need to give him all the time and attention he needs, and things will be great. I don't think anything is "wrong" with him, it's just who he is. But I suppose life doesn't work that way in the real world. So I figure if I just take him out of the situation, I can give him what he needs, but I suppose that's not realistic either. So off to the doctor we go. Not sure yet what I'll do with whatever they give me, but it's going somewhere instead of sitting around hoping things will change. All I know is I cannot stand to see my kid labeled, punished, and what I feel is pretty much unfairly treated just because the adults don't have the time to put what they need to into him. I guess if we find out there is a reason he needs more time, no matter what the reason, it'll promote the changes I'm looking for. I think it's sad that I have to do all this to get him the help he needs, but if that's what it takes, that's what I'm willing to do. But we can use all the pray during this time.. guidance from the Lord will be key here!
Thursday, October 1, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment